Dear SDQHA Members,

I hope this annual meeting notice finds you well! Mark your calendar for the 2020 SDQHA Annual Meeting to be held on January 9, 2021 at 2:00 PM Central Time in the Pierre area. After much heartfelt thought and deliberation, the SDQHA Board of Directors along with the banquet committee made the tough decision to not proceed with the 2020 SDQHA Banquet the evening of January 9, 2021. Many factors went into this decision including the health and well-being of our members and the logistics of facility restrictions due to COVID 19. In accordance with by-law regulations and state non-profit statutes, the SDQHA annual meeting will still occur on January 9, 2021 at 2:00 PM CT in the Pierre area. The exact location is yet to be confirmed. The board of directors will meet that morning prior. The SDQHA BOD encourages the observance of the CDC COVID 19 guidelines. Unfortunately, at this time the SDQHA by-laws do not allow for attendance at the annual meeting in any form but in person. The by-law committee prepared and the board of directors approved amendment to the by-laws to allow emergency exceptions regarding in person meeting attendance. The recommended by law change is published on the SDQHA website and will be voted on at the January 9 annual meeting.  In order to vote on this by-law change and any other SDQHA business, a quorum must be in attendance at the annual meeting so if you feel comfortable attending, please join us January 9, 2021 at 2:00 PM CT at the exact location to be announced soon. The Celebration of Legacies will continue in January 2022—bigger and better! 

SDQHA Proud and "Keeping One Horse Length Apart"!

Kristen Gonsoir

SDQHA President

2020SDQHA Executive Committee

2020 Officers

Kristen Gonsoir, President

Jodie Svennes, Vice President/Treasurer

Victoria Cuka, Secretary/Treasurer

Becky Johnson, Youth Advisors

Janet Hansen, Point Secretary

State Directors                                               Shirley Wetz

Joellen Miller

Sheila Price

Bob Quikstad

Troy Crowser

Heather Sutton

Penny Petersen

Sheila Prins

Amy Krueger

Dede Cuka

National Directors

Debbi Holmes Stockstill

Janet Hansen

Jim Hunt

Dean Johnson

Georga Sutton, AQHA Honorary Vice President

James Hootman, National Director Emeritus

Mike Clites National Directors Emeritus

AQHA Directors-At-Large.Dr. R.M. Christensen, National Director at Large

Larry Larson, National Director at Large

James Sutton, National Directors At Large

2020 SDQHA EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE - (Seated) President Kristen Gonsoir, Groton; Vice-President /Treasurer Jodie Svennes, Brandt; and Secretary/Webmaster Victoria Cuka, Vale. (Standing) AQHA National Directors Larry Larson, Rapid City; Jim Hootman, Harrisburg; Georga Sutton, Gettysburg (Honorary Vice-President); Jim Hunt, Faith; Janet Hansen, Fort Pierre; Dean Johnson, Mud Butte; and Debbi Holmes Stockstill, Virgil.  SDQHA State Directors Bob Quickstad, Whitewood; Penny Petersen, Mitchell; Sheila Prins, Sisseton; Shirley Wetz, Vale; Joellen Miller, Houghton; Sheila Price, Reliance; Troy Crowser, Whitewood; and Dede Cuka, Wagner.

AQHA Level 1



The South Dakota Quarter Horse Association is a non-profit organization dedicated to developing and providing beneficial services and opportunities for all horse enthusiasts. Our goal is to develop our membership through educational programs, recognition programs, recreational opportunities, the monitoring of equine public policy, the fostering of industry relations, and the marketing, promotion, and publicity of the American Quarter Horse.

AQHA Region 2

Contact Us